About the TFSC

The Wally Cordes Teaching and Faculty Support Center is an interactive resource for faculty, instructors and graduate teaching assistants who strive to enhance teaching and learning.

Directed by U of A faculty, TFSC invests in faculty excellence, promotes innovation in teaching and learning, and advances student success. The center, established in 1992, provides programs, symposiums, teaching camps and grants for new and not-so-new faculty and teachers. TFSC also supports faculty scholarship and assists departments in improving learning and teaching.

Three co-directors provide leadership for the center.  Each co-director serves a three-year term, which means new co-director rotates into TFSC each year.


Don Johnson

Donald M. Johnson
Professor of Agricultural Education, Communications and Technology
Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences

Serving TFSC 2018-2021

Julie Trivitt

Julie Trivitt
Clinical Associate Professor of Economics
Sam M. Walton College of Business

Serving TFSC 2019-2022

Lori Holyfield

Lori Holyfield
Professor of Sociology
J. William Fulbright College of Arts & Sciences

Serving TFSC 2017-2020

Event Manager

Lori Libbert

Lori Libbert
Special Events Manager

Who was
Wally Cordes?

"He developed a reputation as one of the most outstanding teachers ever that called the U of A his home."

- Chemistry professor Bill Durham, 2014

"He has amazed, interested and excited literally thousands of students."

- Provost Bob Smith, 2002

Read more about Wally Cordes

Wally Cordes
Dr. Wally Cordes

Past Co-Directors

  • Jack Kern (2016-2019)
  • Mary Savin (2015-2018)
  • Lorraine Brewer (2016-2017)
  • John Pijanowski (2013-2016)
  • Linda Myers (2015-2016)
  • Mark Boyer (2014-2015)
  • Jeannie Whayne (2012-2015)
  • Inza Fort( 2012-2013**, 2003-2006)
  • Norm Dennis (2010-2012**)
  • Marianne Neighbors (2009-2012)
  • Janine Parry (2008-2011)
  • Charles Rosenkrans (2007-2010)
  • Cheryl Murphy (2006-2009)
  • Neil Allison (2005-2008)
  • David Longer (2004-2007)
  • Daniel Levine (2002-2005)
  • Jim Turpin (2002-2004)
  • Deborah Thomas (2001-2003)
  • David Gay (1999-2002)
  • Richard Lee (1999-2000*)
  • Barbara Shadden (1997-2000)
  • Craig Beyrouty (1996-1999)
  • Tom McKinnon (1994-1998)
  • Ro DiBrezzo (1992-1997)
  • Wally Cordes (1992-1995, *2000-2001)
  • Paul Cronan (1992-1994, 2011-2014)


To create and enhance a community committed to promoting the best practices of teaching and learning.


To provide innovative and engaging programs and resources for our faculty that will promote excellence and will enrich academic programs and learning experiences on our campus.


Harmon Parking Deck

Wally Cordes Teaching and Faculty Support Center
HAPF 703
University of Arkansas
146 N. Harmon Ave.
Fayetteville, Arkansas 72701

P 479-575-3222
F 479-575-7086